HTML 5 and interfaces in 2012

The definition of HTML 5 is complete for W3C

For the W3C, the specification is completed today, and it also includes the 2D canvas tag. Work on HTML 6 will begin after the development of the implementation. Actually there is already a draft of HTML 5.1 that is a minor revision.
But for the WHATWG there is no development version and the work continues every day. Also if the implementation can refer to a standard, it does not prevent the development of functions that are not yet.
The announcement. The final recommendation is expected for 2014.
December 17, 2012.

Nokia launches here.com, a mapping service for all platforms including Firefox OS

Its mapping service becomes more open and will be part of Firefox OS. It is available in HTML 5 application for the desktop, mobile application for Android and iOS. Like Google Maps, Here allows you to choose between a 2D map or 3D view, but it proposes also to add a variety of specialized information such as traffic conditions, shops, public transport ... A StreetView equivalent will also happen later with LiveSight (currently for Nokia mobiles), and through the acquisition of Earthmine, a specialized company.
The maps may be personalized with collections of personal data.
A partnership with Mozilla is announced to integrate the service to Firefox OS too because Nokia wants to become the center of a universal Internet service that the company could have already achieved in the style of Twitter and Facebook without having been able to do.
here.com.
See also the FAQ for other questions.
November 14, 2012.

Do we need a push API?

The W3C provides a standard specification describing an API of notification services from the server to the address of web applications. But it seems to duplicate the WebSocket protocol and WebRTC. Do we really need this new standard?
With this API messages are sent by the server in different format. It is the choice of the service that define the protocol of transmission used. The difference with WebSocket is in the use of these formats (GSM-SMS, SIP or other) while WebSocket transmit raw binary data.
This API provides a fairly comprehensive interface for managing all aspects of the transmission of messages. It should probably be better for tools such as email clients. It appears as a specialized framework over WebSocket.
Spécification.
October 26, 2012.

Firefox 16: End of prefixes

Many CSS properties that had lost the -moz prefix, ie Firefox passes to the standard formulation. For example -moz-transform becomes transform. This does not mean that you must remove prefix in your applications, it will take more than a year for older versions of Firefox to disappear.
IndexedDB, battery and vibration APIs become also standard.
JavaScript is faster thanks to incremental garbage collector, which will remove surges generated by memory saturation and its cleaning.
For developers, a new action bar that appears at the bottom of the window is used to display the Web console, which is now at bottom like in Chrome and not uppermost.
Firefox 16 is a major release, many other functions are added.
October 10, 2012.

New JavaScript engine, speed tests

In September 2012, Firefox is in version 15 and Chrome in version 21. See the comparative JavaScript V8 benchmarks to coming versions (higher is faster):

  1. 1902 - Internet Explorer 9.
  2. 3812 - Internet Explorer 10.
  3. 8000 - Chrome 17.
  4. 8317 - Chrome 19.
  5. 8474 - Firefox 15.
  6. 9511 - Firefox 17.
  7. 10188 - Firefox 18.

What makes version 18 so fast is the new JavaScript compiler IonMonkey. It translate JavaScript into intermediate language, then performs optimizations thereon. There are these optimizations, impossible with a direct compilation that provide such acceleration!
September 12, 2012.

Firefox 15

The new version brings a new level of comfort for end users with the automatic update when you open the "About" window. You can remove the automatic update if you prefer with
about: config -> app.update.auto = false.
Players will benefit from improved WebGL but there are mostly developers who appreciate this new version.
It is possible to switch between the desktop and mobile page with the "Responsive Design" command in developer tools, and a JavaScript debugger is added to tools.
Demonstration of textures with WebGL improved.
August 29, 2012.

Mozilla mobile

Firefox OS mobile phones in 2013

This will begin in Brazil with the support of Vivo, a telecommunications operator in that country. But the Boot 2 Gecko system, now called Firefox OS, which is based on HTML 5, has the support of many other operators worldwide and of hardware manufacturers ZTE and Alcatel.
To celebrate the growing success, Mozilla created this nice logo ...
The interest of B2G is to access the device functions even for HTML 5 applications, what is also done with other JavaScript frameworks like PhoneGap, but it is more direct because the operating system here is B2G itself, the WebAPI on a Linux base.
July 2, 2012.

RDF in HTML 5

W3C validated RDFa as a format for semantic HTML 5. This is essentially adding attributes to the HTML tags to give them a semantic meaning, which can be processed by a program. It is also an alternative to Microformats, Google uses, including cooking recipes for example.
RDFa Lite is a simplified version of the format. It remains to see that standard adopted by the actors of the Web and especially search engines.
June 9, 2012.

Firefox safer

A source of insecurity just disappeared with the new version of Flash for Firefox that now runs in a sandbox, as it did already in Chrome. Being isolated from the main application, Flash no longer allow malware to reach the system, and steal passwords for example.
June 9, 2012.

Mozilla offers its version of Bootstrap

Bootstrap is a CSS framework that allows to give sites a common base appearance - but highly customizable - and avoid every webmaster rewriting the stylesheet of his site. The advantage of such a framework is that it is primarily tested on all configurations, including mobiles, thus avoiding a tedious check compatibility, often accompanied by searching hacks for some browsers ...
Mozilla version is called Sandstone, and is characterized by a new font that is embedded on the pages with a online link to the Mozilla site. We will see that style on all pages of the site and since the elements are available to download, on others too.
April 18, 2012.

Microsoft buys - more or less - Netscape

Even if the trademark remains owned by AOL, by taking over 800 patents for a billion dollars to AOL, it is the technology of Netscape that Microsoft wants to acquire.
What is the purpose in having these patents for an astronomical amount if not to do in browsers that Microsoft did in OS for mobiles: to charge competitors and make their product less attractive to the user ...
The Mozilla browser is probably protected by the MPL license, so it would be rather an action against Motorola, Android  or  Chrome. These patents include SSL and cookies.
The future will tell.
April 10, 2012.

A new tool for style editing in Firefox 11

Style editor in Firefox

The editor style complements existing tools such as JavaScript slate, DOM Inspector, Error console.
This is a blunt tool but you can see the results of a change immediately in the browser, obviously, since it is integrated. The left panel displays the style sheets linked to the current page and the internal blocks of style.
This may be an opportunity to give your site a new design with a framework like Boostrap or Skeleton by easing to adapt the style to your content.
You can enable the SPDY protocol by typing about: config in the URL bar, it is the line network.http.spdy.enabled.
The DOM inspector can also provide a 3D view: if the browser recognizes the implementation of WebGL on your computer, then it displays an icon for a 3D view. You can also download the Tilt extension for the same effect.
Mach 14, 2011.

A smartphone for developers

Based entirely on web standards that Mozilla helps to support, this phone is functional and mainly serves developers to test their applications in practice. These are obviously perfectly portable on any device.
The system is Boot2Gecko, the Gecko rendering engine suitable for mobile, with a Linux backend. B2G includes version 2.0 of WAC (Wholesale Applications Community), a mobile library created for Tizen.
To get closer to native apps, applications in JavaScript and HTML 5 use web workers in the background. WebOS uses Node.js.
A device manufactured by LG could be expected to be sold in the middle of this year. The Spanish operator Telephonica is another major partner in this operation with Deutsche Telekom.
Open Web Device. It has its website.
February 27, 2012.

Mobile applications in the browser: Notifications

Another step will be taken by browsers as application platform, for replacing native applications on mobiles. This through a notification system available in the browser, Mozilla is developping.
Users must register at the sites to receive notifications, they will be sent without requiring them to visit the site.
For a site of messaging for example, the user will be notified that a message has come in its email box, which is useful if you have several mailboxes.
It can also be directly alerted to the expiration of a domain name, even if hi do not think to open the corresponding email box (or it has disappeared).
Notification API.
February 3, 2012.

Firefox 10 helps to develop web applications

The new version offers tools for the development and in particular the design, to change the look of a page directly from the browser. This is the WYSIGYG principle with the browser as a development tool.
The JavaScript slate allows to edit the code, run it and see the results with Inspector.
In addition to development aid, version 10 improves support to CSS3 and WebGL and simplifies the use of extensions.
Eclipse Orion. Online code editor which is also integrated with Firefox.
Full screen demo. With the full screen API, the video tag has now this feature that was missing in HTML 5. In fact it works with any HTML tag ...
February 1, 2012.

HUD and "intenterface" vs.  menu

Menus are they disappearing from user interfaces? A step was taken in this direction by the  Head-Up Display (HUD) concept from Ubuntu in Unity. Menus are removed and replaced by a list that interprets the intentions of the user and provides useful commands in context. The interface becomes "intent-drived," defined by the supposed intention of the user.
But menus have the advantage of showing the options available to the novice user. Advantage that becomes a disadvantage once one is familiar with the software.
On the contrary, the Unity system offers a control box with auto-completion and displays  options the most often used in context. 
In fact HUD is able to see at a given moment in the work, all the commands that you can pass, and displays them in the manner of the Google search engine.
This ability of suggestion is a way to explore all possible options with a small footprint on the desktop, which is suitable for mobiles ... but they did not have a keyboard!
The developer must implement the system to its app and also provide a kind of map to indicate its functions.
This system however opens another perspective, the possibility of replacing the keyboard by voice. When  an order is given, the system searches for the nearest control and allows to refine the vocal order. With a little learning - greatly facilitated by this process - controlling  software will become a game
Video.
January 25, 2012.

© 2011-2012 Xul.fr

Ajax JavaScript CSS HTML 5 DOM

HTML 5 et les interfaces du Web en 2012

La définition de HTML 5 est achevée pour le W3C

Pour le W3C, la spécification est achevée aujourd'hui, et cela comprend aussi la balise canvas 2D. Le travail sur HTML 6 pourra commencer après la mise au point de l'implémentation. En fait il existe déjà une version 5.1 qui est une évolution mineure.
Mais pour le WHATWG il n'y a pas de version et le développement se poursuit de jour en jour. Aussi si les implémentations peuvent se reférer à un standard, cela ne les empêchera pas de développer des fonctions qui ne le sont pas encore.
L'annonce. La recommandation finale est attendue pour 2014.
17 décembre 2012.

Nokia lance here.com, un service de cartographie pour toutes plateformes dont Firefox OS

Son service de cartographie devient plus ouvert et fera partie de Firefox OS. Il devient disponible sous forme d'application HTML 5 pour le bureau, d'application mobile pour Android et iOS. Comme Google Maps, Here propose de choisir entre la carte 2D et la vue 3D, mais il propose en outre d'ajouter toute une série d'informations spécialisées comme les conditions de trafic, les commerces, les transports publics... Un équivalent de StreetView arrivera aussi plus tard avec LiveSight (actuellement pour mobiles Nokia), et i grâce au rachat de Earthmine, une société spécialisée.
La carte peut être personnalisée avec les collections de données personnelles.
Un partenariat est annoncé avec Mozilla pour intégrer le service dans Firefox OS aussi car Nokia veut devenir le centre d'un service Internet universel que la compagnie aura déjà pu réaliser dans le style Twitter et Facebook, sans avoir su le faire.
here.com.
Voir aussi la FAQ pour d'autres questions. (En français).
14 novembre 2012.

A-t-on besoin d'une Push API?

Le W3C propose une spécification standard d'une API décrivant les services de notification venant du serveur à l'adresse des applications Web. Mais cela semble faire double emploi avec les protocoles WebSocket et WebRTC. A-t-on vraiment besoin de ce nouveau standard?
Avec cette API les messages sont envoyés par le serveur selon différents format. C'est le choix du service qui définir le protocole de transmission utilisé. La différence avec WebSocket est dans l'emploi des ces formats (GSM-SMS, SIP ou autre) alors que WebSocket transmet des données binaires brutes.
Cette API propose une interface assez complète qui permet de gérer tous les aspects de la transmission des messages. Elle convient sans doute mieux pour des outils tels que clients de messagerie. Elle apparaît comme un framework spécialisé par rapport à WebSocket.
Spécification.
26 octobre 2012.

Firefox 16: fin des préfixes

De nombreuses propriétés CSS qui avaient le préfix -moz perdent ce préfixe, autrement dit Firefox passe à la formulation standard. Par exemple -moz-transform devient transform. Cela ne veut pas dire qu'il faut supprimer les préfixe dans vos applications, il faudra plus d'un an pour voir disparaître les anciennes versions de Firefox.
IndexedDB, l'API batterie et vibration deviennent aussi standard.
JavaScript est plus rapide grâce à un garbage collector incrémental, ce qui supprimera les a-coups générés par la saturation de mémoire et son nettoyage.
Pour les développeurs, une nouvelle barre d'action qui apparaît en bas de la fenêtre et permet de faire apparaître la console Web, qui est maintenant en bas comme sur Chrome et non plus en haut.
Firefox 16 est une version majeure, de nombreuses autres fonctions sont ajoutées.
10 octobre 2012.

Nouveau moteur JavaScript, les tests de rapidité

En septembre 2012, Firefox est en version 15 et Chrome en version 21. Voici les tests comparatifs V8 de JavaScript sur les versions à venir (le plus haut est le plus rapide):

  1. 1902 - Internet Explorer 9.
  2. 3812 - Internet Explorer 10.
  3. 8000 - Chrome 17.
  4. 8317 - Chrome 19.
  5. 8474 - Firefox 15.
  6. 9511 - Firefox 17.
  7. 10188 - Firefox 18.

Ce qui rend la version 18 si rapide est le nouveau compilateur JavaScript IonMonkey. Celui-ci traduit le code JavaScript en langage intermédiaire, puis effectue des optimisations sur celui-ci. Ce sont ces optimisations, impossible avec une compilation directe qui fournissent cette accélération!
12 septembre 2012.

Firefox 15

La nouvelle version apporte un nouveau confort pour les utilisateurs finaux avec la mise à jour automatique quand on ouvre la fenêtre "A propos". On peut supprimer la mise à jour automatique si on le préfère avec about:config -> app.update.auto = false.
Les joueurs profiteront d'une amélioration de WebGL mais se sont surtout les développeurs qui apprécieront cette nouvelle version.
Il est possible de basculer entre la vue desktop et mobile d'une page avec l'option "Responsive Design" dans le menu développeurs et un débogueur JavaScript est ajouté aux outils.
Démonstration de textures avec WebGL amélioré.
29 août 2012.Mozilla mobile

Des mobiles Firefox OS en 2013

Ce sera au Brésil pour commencer grâce au support de Vivo, un opérateur de télécommunication de ce pays. Mais le système Boot 2 Gecko renommé Firefox OS, qui est basé sur HTML 5, a le support de nombreux autres opérateurs dans le monde et des fabricants de matériels Alcatel et ZTE.
Pour célébrer ce succès naissant, Mozilla à créé ce joli logo...
L'intérêt de B2G est d'accéder aux fonctions de l'appareil même pour une application HTML 5, ce que l'on fait aussi avec d'autres frameworks JavaScript comme PhoneGap, mais c'est plus direct car B2G est ici le système d'exploitation lui-même, la WebAPI sur une base Linux.
2 juillet 2012.

RDF dans HTML 5

Le W3C a validé RDFa comme format sémantique pour HTML 5. Cela consiste essentiellement à ajouter des attributs aux balises pour leur donner une signification sémantique, qui puisse être traitée par un programme. C'est aussi une alternative aux Microformats, que Google utilise, notamment pour les recettes de cuisine.
Le format RDFa Lite, est une version simplifiée. Reste à voir ce standard adopté par les acteurs du Web et surtout les moteurs de recherche.
9 juin 2012.

Firefox plus sûr

Une source d'insécurité vient de disparaître avec la nouvelle version de Flash pour Firefox qui fonctionne maintenant dans une sandbox, comme elle le faisait déjà dans Chrome. Etant isolé de l'application principale, Flash ne permettra plus aux malware d'atteindre le système, et de voler les mots de passe par exemple.
9 juin 2012.

Mozilla propose sa version de Bootstrap

Rappelons que Bootstrap est un framework CSS qui permet de donner aux sites une apparence de base commune - largement personnalisable - et d'éviter à chaque webmaster de réécrire les feuilles de style de son site. L'avantage d'un tel framework surtout est qu'il est testé sur toutes les configurations, y compris sur les mobiles, ce qui évite un travail de vérification de compatibilité fastidieux, accompagné souvent de la recherche de hacks pour certains navigateurs...
La version Mozilla s'appelle Sandstone, et se caractérise par une police de caractère unique qui est intégrée sur les pages par un lien en ligne au site Mozilla. On verra ce style sur toutes les pages du site et puisque les éléments sont en téléchargement, sur d'autres aussi.
18 avril 2012.

Microsoft rachète - plus ou moins - Netscape

Même si la marque reste la propriété d'AOL, en rachetant 800 brevets pour un milliard de dollars à AOL, c'est la technologie de Netscape que Microsoft veut acquérir.
Quel est le but en possèdant ses brevets pour une somme astronomique si ce n'est de faire dans le domaine des navigateurs ce que Microsoft a fait dans celui des OS pour mobiles: faire payer les concurrents et rendre leur produit moins attractif pour l'utilisateur...
L'avenir nous le dira.
Le navigateur Mozilla est sans doute protégé par la licence MPL, ce serait donc plutôt une action contre Motorola, Android ou Chrome. Ces brevets incluent SSL et les cookies.
Il y a peu de chance que ces brevets logiciels soient utilisables en Europe, même si on a vu Apple faire des procès à Samsung, avec une réussite très partielle, dans ce domaine.
10 avril 2012.

Un nouvel outil d'édition dans Firefox 11

Editeur de style de Firefox

L'éditeur de style complète les outils déjà existants comme l'ardoise JavaScript, l'inspecteur DOM, la console d'erreurs.
C'est un outil rudimentaire mais il permet de voir les résultats d'une modification immédiatement dans le navigateur, évidemment, puisqu'il y est intégré. Le panneau de gauche affiche les feuilles de style liées à la page courante ainsi que les blocs internes.
Ce peut être l'occasion de donner à votre site un nouveau design avec un framework comme Boostrap ou Skeleton et d'adapter plus facilement le style à votre contenu.
Vous pouvez activer le protocole SPDY en tapant about:config dans la barre d'URL, c'est la ligne network.http.spdy.enabled.
L'inspector DOM peut aussi offrir une vue 3D: si le navigateur reconnaît l'implémentation de WebGL sur votre ordinateur, il affiche alors une icône pour la vue en 3D. On peut aussi télécharger l'extension Tilt pour le même effet.
14 mars 2011.

Un smartphone pour développeurs

Basé entièrement sur les standards du Web que Mozilla contribue à soutenir, ce mobile qui est fonctionnel sert surtout aux développeurs à tester de façon pratiques leurs applications. Celles-ci sont évidemment parfaitement portables sur tout appareil.
Le système est Boot2Gecko, le moteur de rendu Gecko adapté aux mobiles, avec Linux en backend. B2G inclut une version de WAC 2.0 (Wholesale Applications Community), une librairie d'interface mobile créée pour Tizen.
Pour se rapprocher des applications natives, les applications en HTML 5 et JavaScript utilisent des web workers en tâches de fond. WebOS quand à lui recourt à Node.js.
Un appareil fabriqué par LG pourrait être vendu au milieu de cette année. L'opérateur espagnol Telephonica est un autre partenaire de taille à cette opération avec Deutsche Telekom.
Open Web Device. Il a son site Web.
27 février 2012.

Les applications mobile dans le navigateur: Notification

Un nouveau pas va être franchi par les navigateurs comme plateforme d'application, en remplacement des applications native sur les mobiles. Cela grâce à un système de notification disponible dans le navigateur, que Mozilla est en train de mettre au point.
Les utilisateurs devront s'inscrire sur les sites pour recevoir des notifications, qui leur seront envoyées sans qu'ils aient besoin de se rendre sur le site.
Pour un site de messagerie par exemple, l'utilisateur sera averti qu'un message est parvenu dans sa boite au lettre, ce qui est utile si l'on dispose de plusieurs boites aux lettres.
On peut aussi être prévenu directement de l'expiration d'un nom de domaine, même si on ne pense pas à relever la boite d'email correspondante (ou si elle a disparu).
API de notification.
3 février 2012.

Firefox 10 aide à developper les applications web

La nouvelle version offre des outils pour la mise au point du design notamment en permettant de changer l'apparence d'une page directement à partir du navigateur. C'est l'application du principe WYSIGYG avec le navigateur comme outil de développement.
L'ardoise JavaScript permet d'éditer le code, l'exécuter et voir le résultat avec les Inspectors.
Outre l'aide au développement, la version 10 améliore le support CSS3 et WebGL et simplifie l'emploi des extensions.
Eclipse Orion. Editeur de code en ligne qui est aussi intégré à Firefox.
Démo plein écran. Grâce à l'API plein écran, la balise video dispose de cette fonctionnalité qui manquait à HTML 5. En fait cela fonctionne avec toute balise HTML...
1 février 2012.

© 2011-2012 Xul.fr